The Department of Chemistry was created  from the Department of Applied Sciences which was established in the 2004/2005 academic session. The Department of Applied Sciences offered the following Programmes:

  1. B.Sc Applied Chemistry
  2. B.Sc Applied Mathematics and
  3. B.Sc Applied Physics

Before the end of the session, the name of the Department was changed to the Department of Natural Sciences to include three (3) additional Programmes namely: B.Sc Biochemistry; B.Sc Biology; and B.Sc Microbiology.

The word applied was replaced with industrial to make the Programmes more attractive to prospective students. In the 2006/2007 academic session, the Department of Natural Sciences was split into four (4) Departments namely Departments of Biological Sciences, offering B.Sc Biology, Biochemistry and Microbiology programmes; Chemistry, offering B.Sc Industrial Chemistry; Mathematics, offering B.Sc Industrial Mathematics, and Physics, offering B.Sc Industrial Physics.