About the Department

About us


The Department of Chemistry metamorphosed from the Department of Applied Sciences which was established in 2004/2005 academic session. The Department of Applied Sciences offered the following programmes: B.Sc. Applied Chemistry, B.Sc. Applied Mathematics and B.Sc. Applied Physics. Before the end of the session, the name of the Department was changed to the Department of Natural Sciences to include three additional programmes namely: B.Sc Biochemistry; B.Sc Biology and B.Sc Microbiology.

The applied was replaced with industrial to make the programmes more attractive to prospective students. In September of 2006/2007 session, the department of Natural Sciences was split into four Departments namely Departments of Biological Sciences offering B.Sc Biology, Microbiology and Biochemistry programmes; Chemistry offering B.Sc Industrial Chemistry; Mathematics offering B.Sc. Industrial Mathematics and Physics offering B.Sc Industrial Physics. The Department of Chemistry offers a 4-year Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Industrial Chemistry with options in Materials/Polymer, Analytical and Environmental Chemistry. The degree programme is designed to produce graduates with sound basic knowledge of Chemistry and its applications in industries.  


Prof. M. Adediran Mesubi was the first Head of the Department of Chemistry in 2006.  Thereafter, Professor J. O. Echeme succeeded him in 2010-2011. Dr. K. O. Ajanaku was appointed the Acting Head of the Department in 2011/2012 academic session. In 2012/2013 academic session, Dr. A. I. Inegbenebor became the Acting Head of the Department while Prof. K. O. Ajanaku returned as Head in 2013/2014 till 2015/2016 academic session. In 2016/2017 academic session, Dr. A. B. Williams became the Acting Head of the Department and completed his tenure successfully as full Head of the Department and Professor in 2017/2018 academic session.

Prof. O.O. Ajani was the Head of Department in 2018/2019 till 2019/2020 session. Prof. J.A.O. Olugbuyiro is the current Head of the Department.


The vision of the Department is to “raise a new generation of leaders” for the industrial development of the nation and Africa using the knowledge of Chemistry.


The mission of the Department is to establish the centrality of Chemistry to scientific discovery, providing analytical solutions to contemporary industrial demands thereby leading to socio-economic development and advancement of Nigeria and Africa.


The philosophy of the Department is centered on strategic human resources development effort to effectively impart our students with modern Chemistry education towards arousing their entrepreneurial spirits for self-employment and to build a diversified, productive and sustainable economy. 


The specific objectives of the Chemistry Programme include the following:

a. To provide a sound Chemistry knowledge and skills to enable the students understand and appreciate chemical technology.

b. To impart to the students appropriate skills and abilities to handle chemical processes in chemical and allied industries and in the environment.

c. To prepare the students for jobs in the growing chemical and allied manufacturing industries in the country.

d. To produce self-reliant graduates for self-employment in applied Chemistry.

e. To prepare graduates for teaching and research work in applied Chemistry in our higher institutions of learning in the country.

Connect with us

Km. 10 Idiroko Road, Canaan Land, Ota, Ogun State

  • dummy+1 (2) 345 6789

  • dummy+1 (2) 345 6789

  • dummy contact@covenantuniversity.edu.ng


Enter your email and we'll send you more information